Chiff-Chaffs and the Rio Andarax

Yesterday I went out with my good friend Jesus Contreras of Oz Nature to some of his favourite locations near Almeria and what an afternoon it was.

Most of the afternoon was spent enjoying the delicious tapas in a village local to where we were, driving along the Rio Andarax (literally) and bird-watching or to be more precise, Chiff-Chaff watching. I learned much from Jesus about the habits of some of the birds we saw during the afternoon and with a little patience and I’d say a lot of luck, actually managed to take some photographs of them. That is of course in addition to my abstract shots of discarded furniture and a skip full of oranges!

Now I’m certainly no expert in wildlife photography (yet) and to demonstrate this, I took over 200 photographs during the afternoon most of which ended up being of perfectly focused branches and twigs. There were however some at least that I’d consider good enough – these birds were just too fast for my slow but steady landscape technique

Chiff-Chaff

Chiff-Chaff

Chairs

Chairs

Oranges

Oranges

After the bird-watching / photography session, we went for a nice drive into the mountains above Almeria to just sit, chill and enjoy the view, after all, this was a day for relaxing and enjoying nature 🙂

So, if you would like an afternoon taking photographs or bird-watching, or even both then you need to get in contact with us straight away – the time to go is now!!!

Contact details:

Cabo de Gata Photography
http://cabodegataphotography.com/
https://cabodegataphotography.wordpress.com
martyn@cabodegataphotography.com
Facebook / Twitter / Flickr

Oz nature
http://www.indalodeoz.com/
http://www.andalucia.org/turismo-y-deporte/almeria/oz-nature-wildlife
indalodeoz@indalodeoz.com
Facebook / YouTube / DepositPhoto

2 responses to “Chiff-Chaffs and the Rio Andarax

  1. To the discerning reader – I noticed that I have actually spelled the name of Rio Andarax incorrectly but as I have now published the link and it is fast becoming my most popular post I can’t really change it, only in the name of the post, which of course I have.

    I hope I haven’t offended site visitors :-S

Leave a comment