Jellyfish

At one time you would never get me in the sea if there were jellyfish about and to be honest even nowadays, I don’t much like being in their company. Yesterday whilst swimming, I encountered a great many of them and the sea was evacuated en mass; it seems I am not the only one then! The evacuation was shortly followed by a number of rough-tough boys of a certain age and in between sets of teeth removing the “medusozoa” thus making the sea safe. Except of course where one was removed two came back. I tried to explain that this is not the right thing to do but they just look at you with mad staring eyes as do their parents and a discussion about such things whilst the swarms were closing in is not something I wanted to entertain. Needless to say, I don’t approve of such intervention even if they thought that they were making the world a better place.

Jellyfish / Medusa

Jellyfish / Medusa

As much as I’ve been afraid of them, I’m also a bit fascinated by jellyfish and have watched many nature programmes about them. I always love to watch them in Sealife centres and similar such places. Yesterday I thought I would face my demons, take up my underwater camera that I have written about so much lately and photograph them… of course, if I had worn a wet-suit, this would be less of an issue.

I posted an album of photographs on Facebook of the “better” jellyfish pictures but as not everyone uses Facebook, I thought it would be cool to make a slide-show of the same photographs. So here-you-go!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Jellyfish

  1. Pingback: Beach Clean | Cabo de Gata Photography·

Leave a Reply

