Before and After

The church in these photos was (according to local press a while ago) used for satanic rituals. A local person “in-the-know” told me that all the activities that inspired the stories was in fact to prompt the local authorities to expedite the renovation project, which actually DID follow shortly after. I don’t really know the true story and to be honest, it’s neither here-nor-there, personally I think the renovation makes it look too squeeky clean but it is a much loved symbol of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata.

Here are the photographs, firstly before the renovation.

Iglesia de San Miguel (22 March 2011)

Iglesia de San Miguel (22 March 2011)

…and after the renovation although some works are still in progress but it’s pretty much done!

Iglesia de San Miguel (25 May 2012)

Iglesia de San Miguel (25 May 2012)

So, wha d’ya reckon?

10 responses to “Before and After

  1. Oh, how I love the character of the Before image! Why do people believe that giving old architecture a face-lift means removing all character and making it “squeaky clean”? But no one ever asks me! I love the Before. But, I guess the After will encourage tourists. Right?

    • I’m assuming that’s the case but it all depends on what “they” do with the building. It would make a brilliant cultural centre and i could see it being successful hosting local art exhibitions, flamenco, etc…

    • Yes me too, I love that the whole facade was stained by the salt as are most of the adjacent buildings – I guess you’ve been there since it has been restored(?) It’s been restored well but a bit too clean for my liking.

  2. pre-restoration image: I really like the cloud, the gradation in the sky, and especially the slanted shadow. I can hear Morricone playing to this one.

    • Funny you should say that because nearly all the Spaghetti Westerns were made not that far from here, as you will no doubt know if you got to a certain few of my posts🙂

  3. Pingback: Arrecife de las Sirenas | Cabo de Gata Photography·

  4. Pingback: The milk moon | Cabo de Gata Photography·

  5. Pingback: Gone with the wind | Cabo de Gata Photography·

Leave a Reply

